Fuel for tall people

You may know by now that the tall person has a routine in the morning. It begins with me waking him up with several short, sharp, alarm barks. I decided early on that alarm clocks are very annoying so I made our one redundant and took over its job. Ruthless? Yes, but I believe in waking up the tall person in a ‘natural’ way, to the sounds of nature (me), which is much more holistic and environmentally friendly than a buzzing alarm clock. The tall person partially agreed but did ask if I could imitate the soft gentle lapping of waves on a desert island seashore. I tried to but it still sounded like barking.

Anyway, after the tall person opens the back door and lets me out he goes to the kitchen to make a cup of strong black coffee. By the time I return, he is beginning to look more like the tall person and less like a comatose person.

The tall person told me that he has performed his coffee ritual every morning for as long as he can remember. He said that coffee is one of the greatest discoveries of all time, right up there with electricity (to heat water for coffee) and fire (to heat coffee when there is no electricity).

He went to the market yesterday to buy more coffee. He never likes to leave it until his coffee supply is “dangerously low”. By this he means he has about a week’s worth left.

There are several coffee sellers in the big indoor market and the tall person found a new one. You can see from the picture that the man who sells coffee has colorful buckets for the coffee beans and a very fancy grinder.

The tall person likes Arabica beans from Ethiopia. He told me that one of his treasured memories is participating in a coffee ceremony in a remote village in the highlands of Ethiopia in Africa. He said he sometimes thinks of that when he sips his morning coffee.

He bought his coffee and then walked with De to one of the big outdoor markets to buy vegetables. It was very cold yesterday and as it had been snowing recently the market was very muddy.

De does not allow the tall person to talk in the markets because she thinks that the market people will charge more because he is a foreigner so he carries the bags and takes photographs and waits patiently.

The tall person told me that it was very cold in the market and he had forgotten his gloves and as he was holding the bags he could not put his hands in his pockets to warm them.

Poor cold tall person. Anyway, he said that suddenly he spotted a lady who sells coffee to go. She had an impressive mobile coffee shop where she made steaming hot Turkish coffee.

Wow! That would warm the tall person up! Unfortunately, he couldn’t put his bags down because the ground was too muddy and De was nowhere to be seen.

Poor cold tall person. You should have found the lady who sells plastic bags and lemons and bought some bags to put on the ground so your bags would not get muddy and you could then have drunk a steaming hot cup of Turkish coffee.

Hmm, I need to give you some lessons on lateral thinking tall person!

17 thoughts on “Fuel for tall people

  1. Wonderful story and pictures! Like your tall person, I’m a coffee drinker too, but perhaps not as seasoned. I’ve only been drinking it for the last 15 years. But I can understand the tall person’s affection for coffee! I love it, in nearly all flavors. Here in the US we have a lot of different-flavored varieties, but there’s nothing like a good, pure cup of freshly-ground coffee from Arabica beans. Kenyan coffee is good too.

    Thanks once again, Bassa, for the great insight into your interesting, colorful country and life 🙂

  2. I wake my person up by jumping next to her bed. It works really well. It’s hard to ignore a jumping dog, but I guess barking would be just as effective. My person says she loves learning about your markets but is sad that they would charge the tall person more.

  3. Is the tall person a foreigner? I’ve never heard about this before! 🙂 Where is the tall person from?
    There must be a lot of paws washing after such walks for Bassa 🙂

  4. You’re so wise and funny all at once, Bassa. 🙂 I love the earthiness of your markets there (based off the pictures). Like the tall person, I couldn’t go a day without black coffee (I also think I’d look like a zombie if i didn’t drink a cup). Perhaps you should just remind him to bring his gloves next time.

    As an aside, what language is spoken in Georgia?

  5. Hi Bassas! I love coffee too and must have it in the mornings. It’s very nice of you to wake the tall person up every morning. If he does not particularly enjoy your barking, maybe you can wake him up with kisses? In our house, the humans are the first to wake up and Cubbie is the last!

    • I used to wake him up by nibbling his toes but he was not too keen on that and now blocks the bedroom door with the little person’s indoor drive around car. So I have to bark! 🙂 Cubbie is last to wake up? Hmm, it sounds like Cubbie needs an alarm clock! 🙂

  6. Very interesting post! It reminds me one of mom’s long time friends who loves travelling and teaching English, who is British. He once said that the best coffee he ever had was
    the one he had in Ethiopia. His story sounded like the one your tall person experienced! Wow, I wish my mom had a chance to have those delicious coffee one day.

  7. It’s a shame the tall person could not
    Get the steaming coffee, even holding
    Would have warmed his hands. I usually
    Wake up by my mental alarm, but if
    there is a delivery at the door or if Mica
    (rarely) needs to go out during the night
    She will give one short bark. Then she will
    Wait and give another short bark just to
    Wake me and no one else.

  8. Just a question – doesn’t the constant presence of the camera mark the tall person as a foreigner just as much as speaking does? I’m glad he was able to find his coffee! In the year of the hurricanes in the United States, my father’s town in Florida had at least two come through; each time the power was out for at least a week, and each week he had to do without coffee part of the time. That Christmas all three of his daughters found coffee makers that either worked by plugging them into a car, placing them on a grill, or off of batteries. We never want him to have to go through that again! For the record, I don’t think my step-mom does, either!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

    • The tall person has a smartphone that has a very good camera so when he is out and about taking pictures it looks like he is using his phone.

      A week without power (and coffee) is terrible? Tall person likes the clever coffee machines that don’t need electricity. He will look for one 🙂

Leave a Reply

