A long way from Arizona

On my walk through the neighborhood this morning I saw this fantastical creature.

IMAG3006

I pointed it out to the tall person and he told me that it is the legendary long-lived phoenix bird. According to various accounts, it has a lifespan of 500 years, 540 years, 1,000 years, 1,461 years, or even 12,994 years. As the end of its life approaches it builds a nest of branches and myrrh (the aromatic resin of a thorny tree), sets it on fire and is consumed in the flames. After three days, the phoenix is reborn and rises from the ashes.

IMAG3004

Hmm. The phoenix appears very interested in the gifts underneath the small Christmas tree. I suspect one of them contains myrrh. I suggested to the tall person that we quickly pass by. We don’t want to be caught in the conflagration.

1 facebook-logo-ga (1)

Click on the logo to visit Bassa on Facebook. Click LIKE on the page and become a friend of Bassa.

3 thoughts on “A long way from Arizona

Leave a comment