Ambush in the snow

It snowed during the night and small flecks were still falling as we set off on our early morning walk. After a few minutes the tall person said he should have brought his gloves. Hmm, a little less complaining tall person – unlike me you don’t have to walk on your hands and bare feet!

Everyone one we saw on our way through the neighborhood looked plump in layers of warm clothes, and they walked in a huddled sort of way, like they were cuddling themselves.

The tall person said that he wanted to take some photos of the snow on the mountains that surround Tbilisi so we decided to go to our forest, which has good views of the city.

We were nearly there when we were suddenly ambushed by three street dogs. We were on the sidewalk and they were on the other side of the street but they immediately rushed towards us, forcing cars to stop and their drivers to shout angrily and sound their horns.

As always, I kept calm and the tall person put himself between me and the dogs and we ignored the barking and growling and walked on. Fortunately, the cars had scared the dogs and they ran back to their side of the street but we could still hear them barking as we left them behind.

A short while later we arrived at the forest. Everything that lives there was asleep. No grasshoppers leapt into the air as we trod through the undergrowth. No goats or cows grazed today. The tall person said that he hoped that the tortoise we found in the summer was hibernating now as it would not like the snow. 

We went for a run to keep ourselves warm and the tall person took his photographs of the city and the snow on the mountains.

We didn’t see the street dogs on the walk back home. The tall person said he hoped they have found something to eat and somewhere warm to sleep. Yes tall person, it must be tough on the streets.

18 thoughts on “Ambush in the snow

  1. Another thoughtful post, Bassa. It radiated calmness just like you do. Good for a hyper energetic dog like me. Enjoyed reading it and seeing your photos of the snow. You’re so lucky to get some snow. I’m still waiting here but it is Canada so won’t be too much longer.

  2. Wow, those photos are beautiful!!! 🙂 They made me feel a bit cold because of the snow though…..
    Poor street dogs… cold winter is coming, but they don’t have places to keep them warm enough…I know that they are always annoying you and your tall person, Bassa and their aggresive behaviour to you is not forgivable, but still I feel very sad for them. Yes, must be very tough on the strees.

  3. my dog harley enjoys eating grass also like you do, she is very particular about the grass she eats for some reason. Are you picky also, i always wondered why my canine friends like eating grass so much

  4. I’m amazed at how calm you can be when ambushed. I know I would not react so thoughtfully if I were attacked. I’m glad that the street dogs had gone elsewhere by the time you walked home.

    • Caucasian Shepherds were originally bred to protect livestock from bears and wolves. They still do in the mountains. Can you imagine what would happen Lola if I did react to the street dogs? I don’t want to hurt anything but I will protect the tall person if the dogs attack him.

  5. How sad that the street dogs don’t have someone like the tall person to look after them. I also hope they found some food and shelter, Bassa. It must be a tough life. But I’m glad you are so calm and that the tall person keeps you safe in such situations. I can’t wait for it to snow here – my dogs love to play in the snow (and I do too!).

  6. Great post. Glad everything worked out okay with the street dogs. The collies here are growing in their long winter coats now and it wont be long till we also have snow. The collies love the snow for they have so much fur. I bet you have no problem keeping warm in your beautiful fur!

Leave a comment