Arboreal congestion!

On my walk through the neighborhood this morning I noticed this example of arboreal congestion.

Pipes and a Tree

I pointed it out to the tall person and he told me that it was a jumble of gas pipes, telegraph poles and several trees.

Hmm. I wonder why they had decided to congregate together. I asked the tall person and he told me that it is an example of an obligate symbiotic relationship, meaning that they depend on each other for survival. Without the support of the telegraph pole the gas pipe would fall down and without the support of the tree the telegraph pole would fall.

He couldn’t explain what the tree gained from this curious relationship so we walked on. 

4 thoughts on “Arboreal congestion!

Leave a Reply

