Do you need a new but?

Are you looking for an adverb, conjunction or preposition that:

1. can be used for joining two ideas or statements when the second one is different from the first one, or seems surprising after the first one?

2. can be used after a negative for introducing what is true instead?

If you are, then visit the Butique and browse the summer collection of ‘buts’. Treat yourself to a ‘but’ that will be the envy of your friends!

I saw the Butique on my walk through the neighborhood today and thought it was a fantastic retail idea. I pointed it out to the tall person and asked if he needed a new but. He laughed and told me that the shop sign was probably a misspelling of the word ’boutique’ and the shop is likely to sell fashionable clothes or accessories.

Hmm, I was going to say ‘but’ but I stopped myself.

17 thoughts on “Do you need a new but?

  1. Wow, the tall person dashed my high hopes. As I was reading, I was thinking, “Now THIS is news I can use.” I was preparing to jet on over and check out what they had to offer, but, I see now I can save that flight for another time.

  2. We have too many ‘buts’ around here already so I guess we won’t be shopping today sweet Bassa. Here it is but why, but where, but you and on and on and on. Hugs and nose kisses

  3. *snork!*

    Mama has not been reading her blogs like she should be, but I’m so happy she’s finally turned on the computer again so we can read your blog again, Bassa. It always makes her happy. And I miss the photos of you!

    Pug snuffles,

    Lola Pug

Leave a Reply

