Field promotions

We have two balconies in our house. One overlooks the street (the toy room balcony) and the other overlooks the yard. Until now, Barnaby and me have kept guard together but I thought it would be more effective if we split up and each guarded one balcony.

I discussed this with Barnaby and he said that he would prefer to keep watch from the toyroom balcony because it is sunny and he likes to sit in the sun. This suits me because I don’t like to sit in the hot sun and the balcony overlooking the yard is always in the shade.

I mentioned the new security arrangements to the tall person and he called us together and told us that he was very happy that we are beginning to act as a team. In fact, he was so happy that he promoted Barnaby to Corporal and me to Sergeant.

Wow, Corporal Barnaby and Sergeant Bassa!

P.S. Sergeant Bassa is not asleep on duty – I’m just resting my eyes.

29 thoughts on “Field promotions

  1. Bassa… I’m not sure you’re taking your sentry duties seriously! And I’ve just noticed the age thingo up in the corner of your page – Bassa is exactly one week older than Flo!

  2. Ahhhhhhhh…….Barnaby!!!! Please be careful!!! You’re too brave to overlook the yard on your duty! Ahaha….Bassa….I know you just resting your eyes! Good job! 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your promotions. I don’t want my person to get a cat. (She says she’s allergic, so I probably don’t have to worry about that.) But I think it might be nice to have help patrolling the yard. Maybe she’ll let my best friend come over to play… I mean, patrol with me.

  4. Makes sense to divide and concur. I tried to get Sofie Bear to go to the other side of the yard but she always wants to be wherever I am. Oh well. – Lulu Belle

  5. Seargant Bassa, I’m a little suspect of your security detail. While I’m thrilled about your promotion, and how Barnaby is carrying his weight, the fact that your eyes are closed (though you’re not sleeping), tells me you could kick it up a notch by keeping them open. Rest them later, my friend. After all, security is a serious thing! 😉

  6. Sergent Bassa, you look like you may need a cup of strong coffee before reporting for duty. Corporeal Barnaby, on the other hand needs to try the decaf. He’s about to take off flying from the balcony!!

  7. Good team work! Congrats on your new titles! We howled at the end when Bassa said she was just resting her eyes. It is ok. DiDi naps sometimes when on yard patrol.

    Bella and DiDi

Leave a Reply

