Mountain climbing in Tbilisi

Because I live on the side of one of the mountains that overlooks Tbilisi I rarely walk anywhere – I climb!

I usually have just one sherpa with me (the tall person) but today we decided to climb higher up the mountain so we also took our reserve sherpa (De).

We left base camp (my house) at 10.00 a.m. The weather looked as if it could change so I decided on Alpine Style: Lightweight climbing that emphasizes the role of speed to take advantage of good conditions that might prevail only a short time.

De is not an experienced neighborhood mountaineer like the tall person so I ensured that she was safely attached to my leash.

We began the ascent and you can see from this picture how uneven the terrain was.

It was a long and difficult climb up the mountain. De does not like heights and held on tight to her safety line.

By the time we reached the snowline De was clearly showing signs of HADE (High Altitude Dumb): Temporary intelligence loss due to reduced oxygen in the blood supplying the brain.

After consulting the tall person I decided that we had reached our Required Turn-around Time: The time of day at which climbers must turn back in order to descend safely.

I am happy to say that we got down safely and though De was a little tired she was pleased to have conquered my mountain.

In recognition of her extraordinary effort I have decided to award De with my Tbilisi First Class Sherpa Badge. You earned it De!

15 thoughts on “Mountain climbing in Tbilisi

  1. Well done! I am impressed, though as I am reading this I’m multitasking and watching ‘Touching The Void’ at the same time… not sure if you’ve seen it… I think I prefer the look of your mountain!

  2. Well done De!!!! *paw applause* It must have been hard for her to climb up those hills! *nods nods* but she looked quite enjoying it as you and your tall person were together! and Bassa, you are a good girl to help De for the training as Sherpa! 🙂

  3. Great job De!! Climbing with a dog is hard work. Delilah thinks she is part mountain goat and I’ve actually seen her run up rocks that a person would never think of touching.

    You did a good job of keeping hold of De, Bassa.

  4. We congratulate De for making it up and back down that rough climb to the snow spot. Good job sweet Bassa taking care of her and leading her safely up and down. Hugs and nose kisses

  5. Bassa, you are a great climber. You took good care of De. I have never climbed anything except once when I went upstairs in our apartment building. Mom said, “Come down here before you get lost!”

    Love and licks,
    C

  6. Congratulations to De for making the climb up your mountain and back down safely. And it was very nice of you to lend her your support to help her make it. I know from going up, down, across the hills and walking on the rocks at the creek that it can be very difficult and tiring. Thanks to the tall person for such great pictures. Looks like you had a fun day 🙂

Leave a Reply

