Electromagnetic radiation from about 390 to 740 nm in wavelength disturbed my nap!

I was taking my usual afternoon nap when something woke me up. It wasn’t a sound or a scent or a bad dream. It was a shaft of light warming my face.

Intrigued by this scentless thing that cannot be touched or tasted I asked the tall person what it was. He told me that light is simply a name for a range of electromagnetic radiation, from about 390 to 740 nm in wavelength, that can be detected by the eye, stimulating sight and making things visible.

Okay but what is electromagnetic radiation?

Tall person pondered for a moment and then said that light is part of the electromagnetic spectrum, which ranges from radio waves to gamma rays. Electromagnetic radiation waves, as their names suggest are fluctuations of electric and magnetic fields, which can transport energy from one location to another.

Hmm.

He went on to explain that electromagnetic radiation can also be described in terms of a stream of photons which are massless particles each travelling with wavelike properties at the speed of light.

Thank you tall person, that was very illuminating.

Can you now ask the electromagnetic radiation to turn off the light so I can get some sleep.

16 thoughts on “Electromagnetic radiation from about 390 to 740 nm in wavelength disturbed my nap!

  1. Bassa, with all those brain-smarts, your Tall Person may or may not be Albert Einstein and Thomas Edison’s love child…. Hey, wait a minute…… Aaargh, I’ve gone and mixed myself up again! Whatever. He is one smartypants dude, and that “light” thing he speaks of is my favorite naptime toy. I cuddle up with it all the time!

    Love and snuggles,
    C

  2. Pingback: ~ VERSATILE BLOGGER AWARD ~ « MysteryCoach

Leave a Reply

