The lady who shines things

Have you ever picked up an apple and admired its glossy shine and wondered how it acquired its beautiful waxy sheen? I know I have.

I asked the tall person about this and he said that apples are not naturally shiny so they must undergo some type of process after they are picked.

I parked the thought in the back of mind and yesterday I stumbled upon the answer.

At first I thought that the lady in the picture was one of the ladies who sell things but in fact she is a lady who shines things.

I watched her for a while and noticed that she took apples from one bucket and lovingly polished each one before placing them carefully in another bucket.

By chance I had discovered the secret of shiny apples.

So the next time you pick up a beautiful glossy apple in the supermarket there will be no need for you to ponder on how it acquired its waxy sheen – you will know that it has been hand polished by the lady who shines things.

16 thoughts on “The lady who shines things

  1. I haven’t really thought about it before but I suppose someone has to do it, usually an applke doesn’t last long enough for me to consider because as soon as it gets in range……

  2. I always wondered why those apples were so shiny like you did, Bassa. Thanks for the finding!!! Now I know why!!! Good job, lady! 🙂

  3. Does she put anything on the cloth, or does the cloth do the polishing? Personally I like picking the apples off the tree, it is wonderful to know where they came from and when they were picked. 🙂

  4. Great insight and observation! Do they grow lots of apples nearby Bassa? Where we live it is at the edge of one of the biggest Apple growing areas in the States…. We like that she takes such pride in her work! 🙂

    Keep up the great posts for we love them!

    The Collies and Chuck 🙂

Leave a Reply

