New Year honours!

Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, recently published her New Year’s Honours List for 2012.

This year’s list of extraordinary people includes a cricket commentator, a TV producer, a greyhound trainer and a Formula One racing driver. I searched the list but couldn’t find me.

I am beginning to suspect that Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, does not read Bassa’s Blog.

It’s a shame – that medal would have looked very nice on my collar. Oh well, there is always next year.

Anyway, my good friends at For The Love of My Dogs blog obviously spotted this oversight and decided to cheer me up by awarding Bassa’s Blog with the prestigious Versatile Blogger Award.

Thank you Deanna and the furry gang: Harley, Scarlett, Chelsea and Roory!

This is the link to their award post. I am sure you will recognize some of the other recipients.

Congratulations to you all!

http://loveofmydogs.com/2012/01/03/versatile-blogger-award/

The “rules” of this award are the following:

1. Thank and link to the person who awarded you.

2. Share seven random facts about yourself.

3. Pass the award on to as many as 15 more blogging friends.

4. Contact those friends and congratulate them!

Hmm, seven random facts about me. Here goes:

I was born in the famous nursery at St. George’s Monastery of Tabakini in the Republic of Georgia where Georgian Orthodox priests have been breeding Caucasian Shepherd dogs since 1992.

I have an arrangement with my local butcher who saves the best bones for me.

I am a shepherd dog and I have a one-sheep-flock that has no sense of direction so is very dependent upon me. https://bassasblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/just-call-me-bo-peep/

I fought a bear once (a very small one).

I have been pecked on the nose by a crazy parrot (now sadly deceased).

I have climbed a mountain without oxygen. I don’t mean I held my breath all the way! You know what I mean.

I slobber a lot (I do mean a lot!).

Okay, those are the random facts. Now, I need to pass on the awards to blogger friends. I talked this over with the tall person and we agreed to each write a shortlist and then compare. Can you believe that we both chose the following blogger friends to make the awards to? Of you course you can, we both think alike!

Jodi Stone

Jodi writes about her life with her two dogs, Sampson and Delilah. On the 1 December her blog was one year old and in all that time she had posted every single day except one. She had a good excuse though – it was the day after her granddaughter was born and she was taking care of her grandson. Jodi is a natural writer and a great storyteller. I know you will enjoy her blog as much as I do.

http://jodistone.wordpress.com/

The Dante Diaries

Dante Alighieri (aka The Travelin’ Boy) is a Malti-Poo weighing in at just a smidge over five pounds. That is probably lighter than the weight of my tail! Dante lives in fabulous Coral Gables, Florida. Dante is very stylish and has an amazing wardrobe. I am sure you will love the pictures as much as I do!

http://thedantediaries.wordpress.com/

dogdaz

This blog chronicles the antics of Louise (aka Lulu Belle) a very shy 55 lb Hound/Lab, Sofie Bear, a 40 lb maybe Corgi/Sheltie (who was suppose to be 70lb Collie/Shepard) rescues, and the house cats (currently The Muffin Man (aka, Muffy), Noel and Constance Kitty). Check them out. They are a great bunch!

http://dogdaz.wordpress.com/

sezpets

Sarah lives in South Australia and loves animals! She used to volunteer at the Zoo and has done work experience at a wildlife sanctuary. Her blog has wonderful pictures.

http://sezpets.wordpress.com/

Life at a Boarding Stable

Stablewoman has a boarding stable on the banks of the Kern River in California.  It is a large stable, caring for around 280 horses. I always enjoy dropping in and reading about the latest adventure or mishap!

http://stablewoman.wordpress.com/

Congratulations to my 5 blogger friends. You fully deserve these awards!

25 thoughts on “New Year honours!

  1. Thank you soooo much Bassa. We really are having fun blogging our life with the humans on the internet. And we really enjoy your smiling face every day. The attention is greatly appreciated. – DogDaz

  2. Bob Monkhouse was given a few honours including an OBE, lilke the Tall Person I enjoy his jokes and one liners

    “Growing old is compulsory – growing up is optional.”

  3. Thanks Bassa! I though I’d get bored of blogging but nup, still going strong! I very much enjoy reading your blog as well!

  4. CONGRATULATIONS BASSA!!!!!!

    You deserve this award and so many more! The Queen sometimes is slow in awarding awards but she will get to you! 🙂 We did not know you wrested a bear!!! That Bear was sorry I bet! LOL

    Congratulations and God Bless You!

    The Collies and Chuck 🙂

  5. Well don Bassa! You have a great blog. HRH doesn’t know what she’s missing. I expect she’s too busy making sure the Duke of Edinburgh doesn’t put his foot in it to read your blog.

  6. I suspect that the failure to include your name on the honours award list by Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith was purely accidental and I will fully expect to see it next year. After all, you DO broadcast the BBC!

    Congratulation on the award!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

  7. Conguratulations Bassa!!! 🙂 Oh!!! you fought a bear??? Wooow!!! Who won?
    Yes the medal looks beautiful and I agree that it suits you Bassa!!!Queen should read your blog! 🙂

  8. Congratulations on your award Bassa, I love reading your blog, the Queen does not know what she is missing!

    I read Jodi’s blog and she is very desreving of this award, I have not had the opportunity to read the others you have awarded but look forward to checking them out.

    Congratulations to everyone for your awards 🙂

Leave a Reply

