You wanted proof?

A little while ago I published my theory about lemons and their importance to the small business entrepreneur. You may remember that I highlighted the frequent instances of lemons being sold alongside apparently unrelated other goods, such as hats and scarves and gloves.

I suggested that this was a new and innovative marketing ploy, with lemons as the lure.

Several readers disagreed with my theory and suggested that there is a connection between lemons and winter clothing because lemons are traditionally used in hot drinks to help people suffering from colds. I thought about this and it made sense.

However……………..

Today, I saw a lady who sells plastic bags and……lemons. As far as I know there is no connection between plastic bags and cold weather and there are far too many plastic bags for customers who buy the lady’s lemons.

Conclusive proof of the allure of lemons in the retail sector.

I rest my case.

Here is the link to my earlier post:

https://bassasblog.wordpress.com/2011/11/08/would-you-like-lemon-with-your-socks/

24 thoughts on “You wanted proof?

  1. You know, every time I read your posts about people there I smile and think about how sweet and cozy it all sounds and then I see their photos and I feel so sad. Not all the time and it’s not because something is wrong with the photos ( nothing is!) It’s just the view of those old ladies selling things is familiar and I wish they all would just sit at home and drink their warm coffee and wouldn’t have to stand outside selling lemons and plastic bags.
    I hope you’ll forgive me for the sad notes.
    Maybe it’s not that sad after all and I’m just in the mood to see sad things.
    Anyway, you always make this things look artistic and you make people think about those things, that’s why I love your blog ( although I just love it, without any special reasons)

    • Hi Alexandra, I really appreciate and understand your comment. It is sad and I too wish they could stay at home in the warm but they can’t because they would have less money to buy food and other basic necessities. Perhaps some are widows or do not have the support of a family. I take these pictures because each of these women is important and I want people to know that. And yes, I would like people to think about these things and perhaps see them in a different way.

      Thank you Alexandra, for seeing.

  2. We are with you sweet Bassa, we don’t see a connection either. The lemons seem out of place among all the other goods. Hugs and nose kisses

  3. Maybe if indeed the lemons are for the wintry cold months, the healing of colds etc., then the plastic bags are for makeshift rain coats to keep the cold winter rains at bay? Sort of a one~two to beat winter colds?
    By the way, I want to let you know that I enjoy reading your blog and seeing your photo captures of the moments you choose to share. I believe you deserve the Creative Captures Award. Enjoy the fact that someone out here in the blogosphere really does see and enjoys your photos of moments. Stop by to get your badge if you would like to show others your award status. Keep blogging, keep photographing, and keep sharing. Congratulations! : )
    Award Info: https://justramblinpier.wordpress.com/
    Just Ramblin’

    • Thank you very much Just Ramblin’. You have been with me since I set up the blog and I am honored that you have chosen to give another award. I remember the first one you gave, just a few short weeks after I started blogging. That inspired me and your continued support and recognition continues to inspire me. Thank you! This is the link to my post acknowledging the award: https://bassasblog.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/moments-in-time/

      Good idea about makeshift rain coats! 🙂

  4. I heard of this stuff in boots called gore-tex or something which keeps yor feet dry; but before that was invented the word is that skins put plastic bags over their socks before putting on their boots, their feet would stay dry and it would keep the heat in! Maybe the lady is offering an alternative: if you don’t buy 2 plastic bags you’ll catch a chill – so you’ll need to buy lemons to make a hot drink with vitamin ‘c’……?

  5. This is interesting……Isn’t Georgia a big producer of Lemons? Perhaps a bumper crop this year? 🙂 Congratulations on your new award!!! I am working on putting the awards you gave me up on our collie blog.. watch for them. By the way keep up the great blogging! 🙂

  6. Hehehe Bassa, you found the proof of your theory!!! Amazing!!! 🙂
    Don’t you think that the lady has too many plastic bags with her hands??? Woof?

  7. here, they are beets, who try to take over the world, but Bassa: around your place, it seems to be urgent to buy and consume as much lemons as possible before they are all over the place! this lady selling plastic bags with them seems to be an activist – but which side … a double agent? the tall person should buy some and squeeze ….

Leave a Reply

