The house that hums

In my street there is a little house with two pink doors. It is next to the “creepy” plant that the tall person likes.

I like this little house because it makes a humming sound.

The tall person told me that it is an old Soviet era electricity sub-station and it provides electricity for the houses in this part of my neighborhood.

Ah, now I understand why it hums. Its electricity gives light when it is dark and makes cups of coffee for the tall person and powers our TV and even the laptop I use to write posts for this blog.

It hums because it is happy.

10 thoughts on “The house that hums

  1. WOW Bassa! Your power substations over there a groovy old school! (I’m actually starting to like Tbilisi because of your posts.)

    Why does the tall person like plants that stick to walls? I’ve seen the pictures he takes on your other posts.

  2. WOW Bassa! Your power substations over there are groovy old school! (I’m actually starting to like Tbilisi because of your posts.)

    Why does the tall person like plants that stick to walls? I’ve seen the pictures he takes on your other posts.

    • Tbilisi is a real mix of retro and modern. My neighborhood is in a suburb on one of the mountains overlooking the city and it is very retro, which I like. I have no idea why the tall person likes plants that stick to walls but perhaps he likes their tenacity!

  3. Hmmmm…it doesn’t look like electricity substation at all because of those lovely pink doors!
    Yes, the substation seems to enjoy his/her work very much and can’t bear not humming!!! 🙂

  4. Wow! That is pretty cool! We don’t have a house that hums but we have these funny cylinders sitting on top of tall wooden poles that hum. I wonder if they’re humming because they are happy?

Leave a Reply

