Anyone for cake?

You may know that I like cake. In fact I love cake. So do many Georgians. There is a street near me that I call Cake Street because that is where the cake shops are. I love going there and sitting in front of the shop windows, drooling. I think I provide valuable free advertising but I’m not sure the shop staff agree – the sidewalk does get a little slippery!

Shops selling similar things can often be found grouped together in the same street. There is a mobile phone street where every other shop sells mobile phones. There is sports wear street opposite the National Stadium and there is also a furniture street and a bathroom street (not literally a bathroom). The tall person says that it is a good idea for shops to be grouped together like this because it saves time.

Anyway, back to cakes. Georgian cakes are very decorative and colourful. De used to make multi-tier, highly decorated cakes but would not let anyone eat them! She said that they were too pretty to eat – hmm, no cake is too pretty to eat De!

Some of the cakes displayed in the shops in Cake Street are very large and in the shape of bears and rabbits and other animals. The bear cake in the picture has been in the shop window for a long time and I think he looks sad because no one has bought him.

11 thoughts on “Anyone for cake?

  1. OMD! The rabbit and the bear are both cakes!!! Georgian cakes are so artistic!!! Hmmm…the bear looks a bit sad as you said, Bassa. If I could have one of them, I would get the bear, so that the bear will has smile on his face! Woo woo!!! * drool drool*

    • Bongo, do you mean cakes for dogs or cakes in the shape of dogs? I am sure that they would make a cake in any shape you would like! My tall person’s grandmother used to make him gingerbread men when he was a boy.

  2. Oh, yes!! We love cake. You sure have some nice and yummy lookin’ ones there. Cake street now that is a very good idea. We would love to go down that street. Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

