Spider pup

I came back from an early walk with the tall person this morning and went to the toy room to relax. The little person had gone to school and it was too early for my mid-morning nap. What to do? De had cleared away the little person’s toys so there was nothing to chew and it was too hot to sit on the balcony.

Feeling at a loose end I looked around and suddenly remembered what the tall person had said to me this morning – if we don’t look up we only see half the world.

So I looked up and in one corner of the ceiling I saw a spider’s web. Hmm, De will remove that when she sees it. However, it gave me an idea. You may know that I don’t like flies and I am always on fly patrol in the house. I know that spiders catch flies with their sticky webs so maybe I could use the same technique.

I looked around for a suitable ambush position and decided that the gap between the dark gray chair (you see it as red in the picture) and the table would be ideal. I carefully attached one end of a string of sticky drool to the chair and the other to the side of the table. I then sat down and waited.

I am still waiting. I haven’t caught anything yet but I’m still hopeful!

15 thoughts on “Spider pup

  1. I was a little hesitant to open & read this blog because I’m arachnophobic (Bassa, that means I’m scared of spiders) but I decided to be brave! I really just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your view on life – all the way from the other side of the world. I have two lovely dogs and I sometimes read them your blogs – they seem to enjoy them as much as I do! I hope you, the tall person, the little person & De have a lovely day. Oh, and happy belated birthday 🙂

    • Try not to be scared of spiders. They do a good job by catching flies. Any enemy of a fly is a friend of mine – I don’t like flies so spiders are my friends 🙂 Unfortunately, I didn’t catch any flies with my clever trap 😦

      Thank you for your kind words about my blog. I really enjoy sharing my experiences and I am thrilled when people read about them and comment 🙂

  2. One day you will be famous for your inventiveness, Bassa. I hope , the tall person doesn’t forget to show us the pictures of trapped flies soon.
    Spiders are perfectly cool: both chilling and hunting in one. Must try …

  3. Oh Bassa! * giggles* You are so funny! I hope that those flies will be caught before long! *whispering* I think that you’d better use more sticky drool strings for the trap. Woof! 🙂

  4. OMG Bassa, I almost fell off my chair laughing! Just as I was going to complement you on your very nice photo, I read on to your “web” and just about sprayed my computer with the coffee I was drinking! You just made my day!

Leave a Reply

