Claws, paws and autumn leaves

De has made some soup for breakfast and while I am waiting for it to cool I will share some of the highlights of my early morning walk.

I woke just before dawn and roused the tall person with several short but effective alarm barks. He knows that if he does not react within a reasonable time I will bark louder and wake the little person. Moments later he appeared in the hall way with half closed eyes and patted me. He missed my head but I am not offended because I know he is a little un-coordinated before his first cup of coffee. Weaving his way to the back door he let me out into the garden.

By the time I came back in he was drinking coffee and his eyes were opening. Good morning tall person, welcome to the world!

We both watched the sunrise from the toy room balcony (very beautiful) and then I led him back to the kitchen to fetch my lead.

Okay tall person. Do you have your phone? Yes. Your cap? Yes. Let’s go!

It’s still very early so the neighborhood is quiet. The sky is lightening as dawn becomes day and the air is cool.

The tall person rarely takes me on the same walk. He likes to explore the many little side streets that make up our neighborhood. He says it is more like a village than the suburb of a capital city. There was no plan when this area was first settled – it evolved and it is still evolving. People build up and out and sideways. No two houses are the same.

Anyway, the leaves have started to fall and are swept by passing cars to the edges of the sidewalks. They are a treasure trove of scents. I check every pile that we come across whilst the tall person waits patiently. I like walking with him because he never hurries me. He is interested in everything and will take pictures and point things out to me and tell me about the things he sees.

As we walk, the neighborhood begins to wake and we see some people and some street dogs and……….some chickens!

I often hear chickens in the neighborhood but this is the first time I have seen them in the street. They reminded me of Lovely Lynlee’s chickens. I walked past them and didn’t bother them.

As I pass yards I often hear dogs on the other side of their fences and gates. Many people in the neighborhood have dogs but they are mostly yard dogs and never go outside. They must be very jealous of me being able to walk around freely. That is probably why they get so excited and bark a lot.

This little dog pushed his paw under the gate and then managed to push his nose under.

It’s a shame that this is all he sees of the world.

Ah, we are nearly home. We have turned into my street and I can see my green yard door and the toy room balcony.

I think I’ll have a nap when we get in. Thank you for a lovely early morning walk tall person. You relax and have another cup of coffee!

26 thoughts on “Claws, paws and autumn leaves

  1. Me, too! I love to go for a walk very early in the morning because I like smelling the fresh air!!!
    I feel very sorry for the little dog only whose paw and nose were out of the gate. He needs to see of the world more!!! Woo woo!!!

  2. Loup and I enjoyed reading about your morning walk, Bassa. What fun for you! Looks like the other dogs in the neighbourhood are so envious. We have the same thing happen on our walks and sometimes dogs are jealous and want to fight.

    Loup wants to write about his walk now. You’ve inspired him.

    Cathy and Loup

  3. Glad you’re able to move about freely, Bassa. It’s sad that the yard dogs must stay in their fences, but I’m sure they enjoy your greetings 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

  4. What a beautiful, cozy story 🙂 Wonderful photos, especially those of the tiny dog under the fence. I wish it could go on walks too. Dogs are not cats, I guess not only do they enjoy the process of exploring but they simply need it.

  5. Yes, those fall leaves have that delightful crunch and plenty of scents for canine noses. I like the way you describe your “effective” alarm barks and your “uncoordinated” morning human. 🙂

  6. I love the fall and its my most favorite time of the year(winter is a close second), over here in michigan the leaves are changing colors pretty good now. Harley and I are hoping to get away in two weeks to tromp around in the woods up in the northern part of our state. Ill post a blog and some pics about it so you can see. Enjoy the best time of the year you and your tall and small people

  7. Early morning walks are the best ones! 🙂 THe collies love the early morning mists and all the wild animals running around. I wrote about those adventures years ago, perhaps I will have to dig up those stories and post them on the blog… The collies want to know if you ever see any collies in Georgia? Great Blog! 🙂

    • Yes, you should post your stories on your blog! I love to read about your Collies.

      I haven’t seen any Collies in the neighborhood but the tall person and De have seen several in Tbilisi.

  8. I used to see a rooster and a hen roaming around the parking lot of my small town’s McDonald’s, but I haven’t seen them for about six months. Trust me, I suspect the sight of chickens in the parking lot at a McDonald’s in Alabama in the United States of America is even rarer than seeing them on the streets in Tbilisi!

Leave a Reply

