My friend Little Man Bollman has more time than me!

I glanced at the clock as I began to write this post. It is Tuesday, 10.40 a.m. here in Tbilisi in the Republic of Georgia. I checked on the internet and the time in Tokyo is 3.40 in the afternoon. In New York it is 2.40 at night. In Seattle in the U.S. it is 11.40 in the evening and still Monday! Hmm, it is Tuesday for me but still Monday for my Facebook friend Little Man Bollman in Seattle.

I asked the tall person why we do not all share the same time and he said that the earth is constantly turning on its axis. If people everywhere set their clocks to the same time, midnight would be in the middle of the night on one side of the globe and the middle of the day on the opposite side. He said that this would be very confusing so the earth is divided into artificial time zones so that people will always see the sun at its highest at noon wherever they are.

I don’t think it’s fair. My friend Little Man Bollman in Seattle clearly has more time than me!

5 thoughts on “My friend Little Man Bollman has more time than me!

  1. I don’t think it’s fair, either!!! very complicated! Mom says that when she makes a call to overseas, it’s a bit stressful! Woo woo!!!

  2. We get even more confused here because Arizona doesn’t go on Day Light Savings time like most of the rest of the United States. Sometimes we are the same time as Seattle and sometimes we’re not. -Bongo

  3. You know, Bassa, when our Mom sends out tweets for us, she has to stop and think where the person is, because she doesn’t know whether to say Good Morning, Good Night, etc. Thank you for your post. Love your photo with the globe!
    x the Berner girls.

Leave a Reply

