I am Bassa

My good friend Rumpy at http://rumpydog.wordpress.com/ writes poetry, especially haiku (a short form of Japanese poetry). He often runs poetry competitions on his blog and encourages others to write. I mentioned this to the tall person and discovered that he too writes poetry but hasn’t written for some time. After some persuasion he agreed to share some of his poetry with me and there was one poem that I thought was relevant to all of us. Because I liked it he kindly agreed to adapt it by putting my name in it but if you like it you can put your name in it.

I am Bassa

I am Bassa,

There is only one of
me.

I am the sum of
everything

And everyone,

Of every moment in
my life

And every moment yet
to come.

Each day I change

In some small way

And I accept that
things will change

And I will never be
afraid.

I know that clouds
give way

To sunshine.

I know that pain
will pass.

I know that love
will change me

And will guide me
safely

To my destiny.

I am Bassa,

There is only one of
me.

I am on a journey

That will change me.

I will walk with
those who care

And leave behind the
others.

I will choose what I
take with me.

I will never be
afraid.

I know that love
sustains me

And I will never be
alone.

I know that love
will hold my hand

And bring me safely
home.

I am Bassa,

There is only one of
me.

24 thoughts on “I am Bassa

  1. Oh Bassa… when I was reading your poem looking at your pics, somehow my eyes started moisting with tears. Of course, I know that it is NOT sad poem at all, but it sounds so beautiful, so touched to me and the pics really matches the poem. What a lovely poem it is! I song it replacing with my name, then my brofur ” Shiro” ‘s, once. (*blush* woo woo!!!) Thank you very much for the poem, Bassa and your tall person. Before I met Rumpy, I’ve never written poet, but because Rumpy kindly encourages us to write, It’s getting more and more interesting. Woof! 🙂

  2. Sorry I didn’t see this sooner, Bassa. “The tall person” wrote such a beautiful and moving poem. It’s wonderful. So touching and the rhythm of the words are like a gentle brook flowing over stones. So soothing. Thanks for sharing.

    Cathy, Loup’s mom and manager

Leave a Reply

