Knock me down with a feather (plucked from Mr. ‘Crazy’ Parrot’s bottom!)

I was sitting with the tall person yesterday evening, reading the comments people had posted on the blog and writing replies. It is like a conversation with friends and is one of my favourite times of the day. Anyway, we both stopped at one comment and looked at each other. It was from a blogger called East Bay Writer who describes herself as a child of the early seventies and eighties – wow, that was a long childhood! East Bay Writer is a new visitor to Bassa’s Blog and she said that she had recently been tagged with two awards and was passing one on to Bassa’s Blog.

You could have knocked me down with a feather! This is a phrase that the tall person taught me and it means that you are so surprised by something that you could be knocked over by something as light as a feather. Since he taught me that phrase I realise that I have been knocked over by feathers so many times since I started writing this blog. I hope Mr. ‘Crazy’ Parrot doesn’t read this because he has lots of feathers and might think I am a pushover!

The award is the Stylish Blogger Award and I immediately attributed this to my shiny coat and big fluffy tail but the tall person said it was more to do with the content of Bassa’s Blog. Okay tall person, you believe that if you want.

I take this opportunity to thank East Bay Writer for giving Bassa’s Blog this fantastic award. She is a great writer and I am sure you would enjoy reading her blog. This is a link to the post she wrote when she accepted her awards. Her seven random facts about herself are warm, witty and heartfelt and I am sure you will want to read more of her blog: http://eastbaywriter.wordpress.com/2011/09/25/gratitude/

Thank you East Bay Writer!

12 thoughts on “Knock me down with a feather (plucked from Mr. ‘Crazy’ Parrot’s bottom!)

  1. hmmm…the phrase sounds useful! Thanks for the explanation! Bassa, you’ve got quite lots of awards for your blog, haven’t you? Woo, that’s amazing! The logo of ’stylish blogger award’ is very stylish!!! Woof!

  2. Bassa, I also have awarded you the Versatile Blogger Award. Here is the excerpt from my post about it (which will go out tomorrow):

    You don’t have to do anything to accept this award. Period.

    If you have not won the award before, you might consider doing one or all of the following three things: 1) Link back in your blog to my blog; 2) Nominate other blogs, as many or as few as you like, for the award and let them know about it, or 3) in a post of your choosing, list seven interesting facts about yourself. If you are winning this award from me, but don’t recall checking out my blog, please feel free to do so.

    If you don’t feel like doing any of this, that’s okay too; you still deserve the award.

    Bassa is a Caucasian Shepherd dog exploring the world in Tbilisi Georgia with the help of her tall man, De, the little person and has an uneasy truce with Mr. Parrot. Her unique perspective on things always makes me laugh.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

    • Thank you so much Nancy. I am absolutely thrilled that you thought of me. I only started blogging in mid-June and have met so many lovely people who love to write and share and read. It’s a whole new world. I will soon be putting a blog roll on my blog and yours will definitely be on it! Thank you so much. Love, Bassa x

  3. Congratulations sweet Bassa on all your awards they are well deserved. Your blog is fantastic! Hugs and nose kisses

  4. Ha! Great point about the length of my childhood – in some ways, perhaps I’m still in it! I I guess I could have made that a bit clearer, though. My point was to say I was actually born in the early seventies – 1973 if we want to be exact – since I believe it takes some time to get into music – I meant to explain that I am a child of the 80’s when it comes to music – who could ask for better music as you grow into your sort of adult self, between 7 and 17 years of age?

    • 🙂 I know what you mean, my tall person listens mostly to 70s and 80s music – he said those decades were his formative years and the music of those years will always stay with him because they were part of him growing up. He once said to me that we are the sum of everything we have ever seen and heard and touched and felt and thought and experienced and we become different with every passing moment.

Leave a Reply

