The great escape!

I always know when the tall person, De and the little person intend to go out without me. Firstly, the tall person will close and lock the toy room door so I can’t get to the balcony and bark at passers by whilst they are out. Secondly, he will check the kitchen table to see if there is anything interesting within my reach.

Normally I don’t mind them going out without me because they often bring back something nice for me from the shops but I didn’t go for a walk yesterday and wanted to stretch my legs.

So when I saw the tall person go to lock the toy room door this afternoon I went out on the veranda, knowing that he wouldn’t want to leave me outside. From my vantage point, overlooking the yard, I watched as De and the little person went down the front steps into the yard. Ah, the advance party is in position.

The tall person then came out to the veranda to bring me inside. Ha! I easily sidestepped him and ran back into the house, along the long hall way and out the front door and down the front steps and into the yard before he knew what was happening. The little person thought this was very funny.

Realising what I had done, the tall person came down the front steps to get me. He knew it would be difficult to get me back up the steps if I didn’t want to go so he unlocked the door to the steps that lead from the yard to the veranda (they are less steep) and pushed me up them. Big mistake tall person. You should have held on to my collar. I bounded up the steps, ran across the veranda, through the open back door………

……along the hall way, out the front door and down the front steps and into the yard. Full circle! Even De was laughing now!

After a few moments, the tall person emerged smiling from the house and stood at the top of the front steps holding my lead.

Victory! We went for a lovely walk in the forest but as soon as we got back the tall person made a gate at the top of the front steps. Ah, back to the drawing board. Hmm, perhaps a tunnel next time?

13 thoughts on “The great escape!

  1. ROFL!!! very funny, Bassa!!! Well done! I could imagine clearly the scene that you were escaping while I was reading this post! Oh you don’t mind them going out without you, normally? I DO! I hate my humans leave me at home when they are out ‘ cause it makes me feel very lonely! * tears* Woof woof!

  2. Good job Bassa you figured out how to get a good leg stretching before your hoomans took off and left you. Reading this made Mumsy laugh. Hugs and nose kisses Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

