It was bright orange!

You may remember that I discovered an urban oasis on a recent walk, which saved me because I was hot and very thirsty. I did not want to be unprepared again so I talked with the tall person and he briefed me on desert survival skills. I know that Tbilisi is not situated in a desert and has a big river running through the middle of it but in the long hot summer its streets can be very dry and dusty for a hot dog!

The tall person told me that we should walk in the shade and avoid direct sunlight as much as possible. All Georgians do this as a matter of course and will always walk on the shady side of the street. I have noticed that only tourists walk in the fierce sunlight – that’s one way to spot a tourist! I have also noticed that people waiting for a bus will huddle together beneath the shade of a tree and only dash out into the hot sun when the bus comes.

Okay, what else? Well, we should avoid going for a walk when the sun is at its hottest. Ah, that’s why we go for walks in the morning and in the evening. Okay. We should always carry water. Definitely! Anything else?  Yes, I should check the color of my urine. Hmm, I haven’t heard that one before. Apparently, a light color means I am drinking enough water, a dark color means I need to drink more. The tall person told me that he always used to check for this when he was travelling in hot places, such as Africa. He said he really panicked once. He was travelling in a very dry part of Ethiopia and noticed that his urine was bright orange! He had become dehydrated but he drunk lots of water and was okay.

You may have noticed from the pictures in this post that I have heeded the tall person’s advice. I am relaxing in the garden, in the shade of a tree, I have checked the colour of my urine (clear) and I have my own portable 8 litre oasis close to me. Ah, the joys of summer. All I need now is a good book – to chew, not read!

8 thoughts on “It was bright orange!

  1. Wow! Really? I didn’t know the color of urine applied to dogs as well as people?!??! How HOT is it there? I love to be in the sun, walk in the sun, lay in the sun.. What’s your hottest temp? xoxoxoxo

    • I like walking and being outside on warm, sunny days but it has been over 100F this summer and that is too hot for me. It is not too hot today (in the 80s) but I still get very thirsty on long walks. Apparently, dark pee is a sigh of dehydration, just like humans oxoxoxoxoxo

  2. You have given and heeded some great advice sweet Bassa. It has been a very hot summer here too and we have not been able to be outside as much as we like. Keep drinking water and enjoying that nice shade. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Wow, you have an old tractor. I like old things 🙂 I am pleased to hear that the collies have successfully re-designed the back yard – it’s hard work but it’s fun! There really should be gardening for dogs shows on TV, where the best ‘designs’ could be showcased! 🙂

Leave a Reply

