Sorry Mr. Palm Tree

At the weekend, one of my Facebook friends from England said that her Caucasian puppy was continually digging holes and ruining her garden. Of course, she was speaking from a human perspective and had clearly not read Bassa’s Gardening Tips for Dogs. If she had she would have a better understanding of the canine approach to horticulture.

I did feel sorry for her because I know that the tall person underwent the same difficult learning curve last year. Before I arrived he spent a lot of time ‘improving’ the garden. He went to the plant markets in Tbilisi and brought home many bushes and trees and plants. He planted them and cared for them and they grew and flowered and he was very proud of his creation. This is a picture of his favourite plant.

I came to live here shortly after he had finished his landscaping and I immediately began to make a few changes. To his credit he did try to thwart my plans by fencing off some areas and moving some things. However, as I grew bigger these precautions became less of a barrier and more of a ‘challenge’ to me. The tall person could not move everything or watch me all of the time and over a period of months I re-designed the garden to more adequately meet my needs. As you know, I prefer a minimalist style and the garden soon looked very different.

There is not much left of the tall person’s creation but he did manage to save his favourite plant. It is a small palm. You may not know this but palm fronds are amazingly chewy and I bit off every frond. I feel guilty about it now but at the time it was just another thing to chew. However, there is a happy end to this story. The tall person re-planted it in a pot and put it on the veranda. It obviously likes it there because it has grown new fronds. Well done Mr. Palm.

So, I will end this post with a message for Claudia, my Facebook friend from England – if you want to understand the joy of gardening from a dog’s perspective you might want to check out my gardening tips for dogs – you can find them under Bassa’s Tips for Dogs in the Category Cloud in the right hand column of the blog.

7 thoughts on “Sorry Mr. Palm Tree

  1. Ah yes, the collies here have totally redecorated the back yard…. and it is their paradise now… its something to see them rip off low branches and eat small trees! I am glad the Palm Tree is doing okay! Enjoy your redecorated yard! 🙂

  2. I am glad that you & the tall person have come to an ‘agreement’ about the Palm tree. Us humans can become rather attached to our plants Bassa – as difficult as that is for a dog to understand. 🙂

    from Annie

Leave a Reply

