Mariamoba

After drinking my fill at my newly discovered urban oasis I was ready for the final leg of our walk. However, the little person said he felt tired so I found us a shady tree to sit under. It was nice to sit and watch the world go by. I saw a young man and woman with a baby carried in a sling on the man’s chest, several old women dressed in traditional black, a boy carrying a stack of freshly baked bread from the bakers down the road and others returning from the markets with bags heavy with fruit and vegetables and meat. The tall person told me that people are celebrating Saint Mary’s Day (Mariamoba) today and will eat and drink much. I asked the tall person if I could celebrate Mariamoba but he saw through my religious ‘fervour’ and said I would not be getting any extra food. Oh well, it was worth a try!

After a while the little person declared that he was bored and could we go home. Bored? He was the one who wanted to rest! Next time little person, drink from my urban oasis and you won’t get tired and you won’t get bored!

2 thoughts on “Mariamoba

  1. You are very observant, Bassa. It’s always good to take the time to see what’s going on around you. You never know what you might miss–like maybe someone would have dropped a little bite for you.

Leave a Reply

