Dear Mama L and Crew

Dear Mama L and Crew, you were kind enough to write a post telling me more about yourselves and asking questions about me and my life. It was a lovely thing to do!

You asked some great questions and I shall do my best to answer them.

Mama L and Crew: Are you the typical size for your breed?

Bassa: I’m not sure. My father, Butkuna, is huge so may be I am a bit bigger than a typical 10 month old Caucasian Shepherd puppy. I do know that I have not finished growing yet! The tall person told me that the minimum height for females is 64 centimetres (25 in), with a desirable height between 67 and 70 centimetres (26 and 28 in). Adult females weigh at least 37 kilograms (80 lb). The minimum height for males is 68 centimetres (27 in), with a desirable height between 72 and 75 centimetres (28 and 30 in). Males weigh 50 kilograms (110 lb) and up. We are big dogs!

Mama L and Crew: Are Caucasian dogs only born in Georgia?

Bassa: No. The Caucasian Shepherd dog comes from the Caucasus Region which includes Georgia, Armenia, the North Caucasus countries, Azerbaijan and parts of Turkey. It was originally bred to protect livestock from bears and wolves. You might have seen pictures of my one-sheep-flock. I saved him from a bear attack once. It was only a little bear but it was very determined.

Mama L and Crew: What are your humans doing in Georgia? Were they travelling there and decided to stay or were they born there?

Bassa: De and the little person are Georgian and were born here. The tall person is English and he met De when he was working in the region and moved from England to live with her and the little person in Georgia.

Mama L and Crew: Do you really speak English and Georgian?

Bassa: I understand English, Georgian and Russian. The tall person, De and the little person always speak to me in English but De and the little person will revert to Georgian if I have been naughty because that is their first language.

Mama L and Crew: Do you get a special meal for your birthday, like a steak or burger?

Bassa: I am only 10 months old so I have not had a birthday yet but I am looking forward to a very special meal on October 11 (my birthday). De is a very good cook and will sometimes make me a pizza. I also love cake! De’s sister Mari makes very good cakes and she has promised to make me one very soon! I also like bones. The tall person has an arrangement with the butcher at the supermarket and he saves the best bones for me.

Mama L and Crew: What is it like to live with a crazy parrot?

Bassa: It’s a complete nightmare Mama L. Mr. ‘Crazy’ Parrot is very dangerous. That’s why he is in parrot prison. He pecked my nose once.

Well, I hope I have answered all of your questions Mama L and Crew. It was lovely of you to ask them!

P.S. Visit Mama L and her crew at their blog: www.loungelassie.wordpress.com They have some great posts!

6 thoughts on “Dear Mama L and Crew

    • He is dangerous Bongo. A friend of mine posted a video on my Facebook wall today which showed a parrot attacking toy soldiers with an axe – they are arming themselves now!

Leave a Reply

