Any enemy of a fly is a friend of mine

It is dark now and I have just completed my perimeter patrol. I do this as soon as it gets dark and also before bedtime. I’ve checked the garden and the veranda – nothing to report, only two bats swooping in and out. I like bats because they catch flying insects such as flies. I also catch flies, so any enemy of a fly is a friend of mine. I have checked the toy room balcony – some neighbours are sitting on the low wall on the other side of the street enjoying the cool evening air. I know them and don’t mind them sitting there. One of them waves at me, which is nice. I am now on the balcony at the top of the stairs overlooking the yard. It’s quiet but the thing I am looking for is very stealthy. A couple of times a week a particular cat sits on top of the yard wall and waits for me to bark at him. He knows I can’t reach him. This provocative behaviour annoyed me at first but I am more relaxed about it now. I bark a couple of times just to maintain my fierce reputation but it’s too hot to keep it up for long.

This is a time for quiet reflection and as I sit here I wonder if cats catch flies. If they do they would be an enemy of flies and any enemy of flies is a friend of mine. Perhaps that cat comes to catch flies, just as the bats do.

9 thoughts on “Any enemy of a fly is a friend of mine

  1. Hi Bassa! YES! My Kitty-Girl loves to chase flies and catches it in her paws and plays with it till dead. Sometimes, sometimes! she may actually eat it (ugh!) I hope it contains some protein or something good for her!

  2. Bassa, that’s pretty cool that that cat wants to be your friend. But be careful or pretty soon it’ll be bossing both you and your one-sheep flock around!

  3. You are a good guard and walk your beat well. We have a cat that catches flies so guess you have a new friend…her name is Patches. Hugs and nose kisses

  4. Pingback: He eats flies! « bassasblog

Leave a Reply

