Come to momma little fishy!

I was relaxing on my balcony this afternoon when my ‘food radar’ alerted me to something delicious cooking in the kitchen. Remembering the importance of indifference (see ‘Bassa’s Begging Tips for Dogs’) I ambled, in a very nonchalant way, through the toy room and hall and looked into the kitchen. De was standing near the cooker frying trout in a pan. The tall person was sitting at the table. Perfect timing! I know how the tall person eats trout so I knew I had a couple of minutes in which to looked completely bored and disinterested.

De served up the trout and from the corner of my eye I watched the tall person go through his usual ritual of removing all of the bones from the trout. He does this because he does not like to pick bones from every mouthful he takes. I continued to watch the television (a Harrison Ford movie) and waited until he began to eat. It didn’t take long for him to notice how ‘good’ I was being and he called me over. I ignored him the first time, which I know makes him try harder to attract my attention, but when he called again I ambled slowly over and rested my head on his leg and gave him my best ‘feed me’ look. A moment or two later I was rewarded with several mouthfuls of tasty trout!

If you are having trouble getting treats I would strongly recommend you read my begging tips (see Bassa’s Tips for Dogs in the Category Cloud of this blog). They work – you win!

9 thoughts on “Come to momma little fishy!

  1. to make the tall person think Harrison Ford on tv was more interesting than him live, even with a delicous trout: what a master stroke! you are a really good actress, Bassa.

  2. Pingback: I like fishing (for fish) « bassasblog

  3. harley does this same things, i will be eating and rests her head on my leg. Sometimes she is standing sometimes she is sitting but she very careful not to make eye contact with me just an occasional glance pretending she dont “Really want food”. she will do this for 15 to 20 minutes….eventually i give in and share pf course lol. Its good to know this is an international begging technique.

    ps what kind of fish was it

  4. Pingback: Gone fishin’ « bassasblog

Leave a Reply

