Robert Browning and I like Bread

I love bread. In Georgia it is called puri (pronounced “poo-ree”) and is baked in a deep circular clay oven called a tone (pronounced “ton-AY”). We have a tone in our garden but we don’t bake bread in it. Most streets in Georgia have at least one bakery. They are very hot places. The tall person likes to watch the baker make the traditional long pointed bread called shotis puri. He told me that the dough is stretched on to a shovel and placed on the inside walls of the oven. When it is ready the baker uses long sticks to take it out and puts it on slatted wooden shelves to cool. It smells fantastic!

The tall person knows that I love bread and he suggested I quote a famous poet, who liked bread as much as I do.

“If thou tastest a crust of bread, thou tastest all the stars and all the heavens.” –Robert Browning.

What a wise man!

6 thoughts on “Robert Browning and I like Bread

  1. I like bread too! So do the dogs. Is there somewhere you can pick up a recipe for Georgian bread? I kind of like to make different kinds of bread every once in a while.

  2. Bread is nom nom nom for humans, and for doggies!!
    Ruger’s hu-Dad & I both like trying different types of bread too.
    You look very happy with you bread treat Bassa. 🙂

    From Annie the Mumma

Leave a Reply

