I have many names

I know my name is Bassa but it took me a while to understand that because the tall person and De and the little person call me by other names too, which was confusing when I was young. They still do it sometimes. The little person calls me ‘Bishy Bashy’ or ‘Bashy Bishy’, especially when we are playing. The tall person sometimes calls me ‘Bish’ and De calls me ‘Boosie Bassy’. There is also one other name that they reserve for when I have done something they consider to be naughty. They call me ‘baddie’. I quite like the name ‘baddie’. It has an edge to it.

They also have other, activity specific, names for me. If I dribble I am the ‘slobber monster’ (I hear that a lot). If I bite I am the ‘biting monster’ (I haven’t heard that for a long while). If I bark for no apparent reason I am the ‘barking monster’. Thank goodness I have never whined or I would be the ‘whining monster’!

I think the tall person sometimes gets confused and forgets my name because he looks at me and asks ‘who is my lovely girl’?  Surely he must know by now! It’s me – Bassa, Bishy Bashy, Boosie Bassy, Bish, Baddie, slobber monster, biting monster, barking monster!

It can be very confusing. So, please don’t blame me if I don’t come quickly when you call me by any other name. My name is Bassa……………..though I do like it when the tall person calls me his ‘lovely girl’!

7 thoughts on “I have many names

  1. And a very beautiful Bassa, Bishy Bashy, Boosie Bassy, Bish, Baddie, slobber monster, biting monster, barking monster! you are too. My other name is “No” 🙂

  2. Yeap — I knows that fing where the hu-mans call you all different names.
    My humans call me Doofus, Rufus, Hoober, Goober and all kinds of silly fings like that. Sometimes they say ‘naughty dog’. But I don’t fink it could be me they is talking to……….

    Many tail wags from Ruger

  3. Pingback: A trip down memory lane « bassasblog

Leave a Reply

